Colombian by birth, Dairo Vargas is a contemporary fine artist who specialises in abstract landscape and portraiture. While the two themes are very different in mood and style, his paintings reflect ethereal qualities of nature and the human physical form.

Accepting his first commission at sixteen, gave him the confidence to develop as an artist. London-based Vargas graduated from Kensington and Chelsea college of Art in 2008 and is now one of the most promising emerging artists of today. 

He creates lyrical and abstract work inspired by dance, movement and everyday life, revealing layers of emotions, inner energy and feelings immersed in our communication and interaction. 

His landscapes are inspired by places in the UK that hold a particular resonance – Sussex’s South Downs, the Black Mountains in Wales, the Yorkshire Dales and the British coast. Each piece aims to evoke a sense of awe and tranquillity in the viewer.

Despite a busy international exhibition schedule, he partners with a number of children’s charities in Britain and abroad, mentoring young people, while also teaching adult art classes for recreation and rehabilitation.  

Private Collections:

Baroness Gloria Hooper
Michael Portillo
Maxi Jazz (faithless)
Chico Slimani ( Finalist 2005 X Factor)
Edward Akrout (Franco-British actor)

Forthcoming Exhibition

2017     SINGAPORE   Affordable Art Fair   17 – 19 November
2017     BRISTOL   Affordable Art Fair   8 – 10 September
2017     HONG KONG   Affordable Art Fair   19 – 21 May
2017     LONDON   Dulwich Festival  May
2017     DUBAI    World Art Dubai  12 – 15 April

Previous exhibitions

2016     Dulwich Festival  http://www.dulwichfestival.co.uk
2016     Carola Syz Projects   MINDCOLLISION  Coya Mayfair

2015     Dulwich Festival  http://www.dulwichfestival.co.uk
2015     Carola Syz Projects  IDENTITIES  https://www.facebook.com/dairo.vargas.artist

2014     Hayat Fine Art Selection  http://www.hayatfineartselection.com
2014     In-spaces  http://in-spaces.com
2014     Graffik Gallery  http://graffikgallery.com
2014     Dulwich Festival  http://www.dulwichfestival.co.uk
2014     Untitled  http://www.untitledartistsfair.co.uk
2014     Easton Arts Trail  http://www.eastonartstrail.co.uk
2013     “Ta – Bleaux” La Filature, Contemporary art gallery Switzerland   http://www.hayatfineartselection.com
2013     Dulwich Festival  http://www.dulwichfestival.co.uk
2013     “Our Time in Ice” ONCA Gallery (Group show) 2013  http://onca.org.uk
2013     “The Winter Show” Cork Street Gallery (Group show)   http://www.corkstreetopenexhibition.com
2012     “New Morning”, Dulwich Festival  http://www.dulwichfestival.co.uk
2011     “Espacio Neutral”, Intercontinental Hotel, Park Lane  http://parklane.intercontinental.com
2011     “Everyday”, Rupert Cavendish Show Room  http://www.rupertcavendish.co.uk
2011     “A Thousand Words”, The Reading Room Gallery  http://www.readingroom.com/gallery/
2010     “Devine”, Ruben Galvis   https://www.facebook.com/dairo.vargas.artist
2010     “A Sense of Place”, Brighton Festival  http://brightonfestival.org
2010     “Movement & Shadow”, Southfields Gallery  http://southfieldsgallery.co.uk

.